In 1864, John Kelly, inn keeper from Carillon, becomes the owner of the ferryboat and keeps it for about fifteen years. In 1879, it will be changed into a steam ferry by Joseph Poitras who will run it until 1884.
Price list that was effective in those years
|Four-weeled buggy and two horses||1 shilling,
|Four-weeled buggy and one horse||1 shilling,
|Two-weeled buggy and one horse||1 schelling||20¢|
|Horse, donkey or mule and its rider||10 deniers||17¢|
|Horse, donkey, mule, ox, bull and other cattle||
Lamb, calf, sheep, goat or pig
In 1925, according to Carillon bylaws, it cost 50 ¢ for a car to cross the river, the same price for a cart and two horses. For cattle, pigs and sheep the cost was 10 ¢ for each animal, the same price for a pedestrian.In 1926, Norbert Lacombe becomes the sole owner of the two ferryboats
En 1926, Norbert Lacombe devient l’unique propriétaire des deux traversiers.
In 1945, Edgar Lalonde and his brother-in-law René Desormaux buy the ferryboats but in 1948, for security reasons, they have to replace them with “Le Passeur” that could cross the river in less than ten minutes. The price for a car was 75 ¢. They will operate the business until 1974 and then sell it to Jacques Giroux and Georges-Étienne St-Pierre.
In 1979, Jacques Giroux becomes the only owner of the ferryboat. In 1993, “Le Passeur” is replaced by “Anik”, a ferry that was used to cross the river between Thurso and Clarence. It was transformed on the spot by the ferryboat team who made it more modern, more efficient and, above all, faster. Now, the vehicles can board straight on the ferryboat pontoon reducing the drivers’ actions and, as a result, increasing its capacity up to 120 vehicles per hour
Diane, daughter of Mr Giroux, and her husband Normand Lavallée bought the ferryboat in 1996 and they have been the unique owners since then.
CARILLON, AU FIL DE L’EAU, 1988
The Centenary committee
POINTE-FORTUNE : AU FIL DU TEMPS, 2004
Lorraine Auerbach Chevrier
Mr Raymond Roy (personal collection)
M. Louis Parson (personal collection)
Traversier le Passeur archives
In 1846, a permit is given to J.G. Danter to operate the ferryboat. Around 1850, Alexis- Edouard Montmarquet, merchant of Carillon, converts the ferryboat into a horse-powered ferry propelled by one or two horses walking in circles around a vertical post and moving a paddle wheel on each side.
In 1864, a new ferryboat made of a platform on two barges is bought by Jean “John” Larocque. In 1909, Télesphore Martin buys the ferryboat “John”. In March 1918, Léo and Adélar Crevier take possession of the ferryboat and sell it to F. Ranger in March 1921.
In March 1923, Télesphore Martin takes it back and he associates with Raoul Lafond (surnamed Parson) in 1924. It is during that year that Télesphore Martin acquires a second ferryboat called “Georges-Fortuna” named after his eldest son George and the first residents known in Pointe-Fortune, Williams Fortune and his brother Joseph. This partnership will not last long because Raoul Lafond associates with Norbert (called Albert) Lacombe in 1925. During that year there are two ferryboats in competition between Carillon and Pointe-Fortune; Martin operates the “Georges-Fortuna” while Lafond and Lacombe own the “John”.